AO Technical Commission Innovation Awards

For outstanding achievements.

AO recognition acts as a driver for further innovative development.

The AO Recognition Award, the AO Technical Commission Innovation Prize, and the AO Technical Commission Certificate of Merit are intended to recognize and encourage the continued pursuit of excellence, innovation, and continued rigorous improvement.

The AO Technical Commission recognizes outstanding achievements in development and innovation, which have a lasting impact on patient care and outcomes in fields central to the AO mission.

[Title] AO Recognition Award

The AO Recognition Award is awarded by the AO Foundation's supervisory body, the AOFB, to honor individuals within the AO Technical Commission who have made significant contributions to the AO Foundation throughout their career and achieved meaningful impact to product innovation and patient care.

In July 2017 the Recognition Award was presented to David L Helfet; a member of the AO Technical Commission since 1998 from New York in USA. The AO Technical Commission would like to thank David for his enduring engagement and signification impact on the AO throughout his career.

  • Previous winners of the AO Recognition Award

    2016 Dankward Höntzsch

    2012 Pietro Regazzoni

    2010 Paul W Pavlov

    2008 Jörg A Auer

    2006 Alex E Staubli

    2005 Theerachai Apivatthakakul, Anselmo Reyes, Christoph Sommer, Timothy Weber

    2004 Emanuel Gautier

    2004 Michael Schütz

    2003 Brigitte von Rechenberg

    2002 Phil Kregor

    2001 Michael Plecko

    2000 Michael Wagner

    1999 Reto Babst

    1998 Douglas Klotch

    1998 Christian Krettek

    1994 Christoph Müller

    1994 Roland Schmoker

[Title] AO TC Innovation Prize

The AO Technical Commission's Innovation Prize is awarded by the AO Technical Commission's supervisory body, the TCEB, to recognize individuals or groups for their leading involvement and innovative contribution to a project that has made significant impact.

The winner of the AO Technical Commission Innovation Prize 2020 is the Reamer Irrigator Aspirator (RIA) Task Force, in recognition of the group's exceptional work in the development of RIA 2, the next generation Reamer Irrigator Aspirator system.

The Technical Commission congratulates the RIA Task Force on its achievements in further advancing the care of trauma and orthopedic patients and looks forward to additional successful collaboration in the future.

HC Pape AO TC Innovation Price

Hans-Christoph Pape


Brett Crist AO TC Innovation Price

Brett Crist


Peter Giannoudis AO TC Innovation Price

Peter Giannoudis


David Hak AO TC Innovation Price

David Hak


Ingo Marzi AO TC Innovation Price

Ingo Marzi


Christof Müller AO TC Innovation Price

Christof Müller


Brent Norris AO TC Innovation Price

Brent Norris


Martijn Poeze AO TC Innovation Price

Martijn Poeze


Gerhard Schmidmaier AO TC Innovation Price

Gerhard Schmidmaier


  • Previous winners of the AO Technical Commission Innovation Prize

    2018 Karl Stoffel

    2016 Scott P Bartlett, Daniel Buchbinder, Carl-Peter Cornelius, Nils-Claudius Gellrich, Damir Matic, Alf L Nastri, Rainer Schmelzeisen

    2013 Gerhard Schmidmaier, Michael J Raschke

    2013 Michael Mayer

    2012 Per-Henrik Agren, Michael Castro, Juan B Gerstner Garcés, Leslie Grujic, Andrew K Sands, Ian G Winson

    2011 Theodor F Slongo

    2010 Peter Däscher, Emanuel Gautier, Romano Matthys-Mark, Urs Schlegel, Peter Toggwiler, Dieter Wahl

    2008 Alberto A Fernández Dell'Oca

    2007 Toru Sato

    2007 Takeshi Sawaguchi

    2006 Sigvard T Hansen

    2004 Stephan Perren

    2001 Fridolin Schläpfer

    2001 Robert Frigg

    1995 Hill Hastings, Jürg Brennwald, Ueli Büchler, Jesse Jupiter

[Title] AO TC Certificate of Merit

The Certificate of Merit is awarded by the AO Technical Commission's supervisory body, the TKEB, to individuals as a sign of appreciation for outstanding activities over the course of one project or a year.

In December 2019, Markus Windolf received the AO Technical Commission Certificate of Merit. He was in particular awarded for the outstanding and innovative development of a simplified navigation system based on shape recognition and for a concept to automatically determine the required screw length during drilling.

Both concepts are now in translation to clinical applications which is a clearly visible sign that the Concept Development Focus Area under the thoughtful leadership of Windolf plays an essential role in the efforts of the AO Foundation to foster innovation. In this regard the AO Technical Commission wishes Windolf and his team continued success and is looking forward to a fruitful collaboration.

  • Previous winners of the AO Technical Commission Certificate of Merit

    2012 Marc C Metzger, Alexander Schramm, Edward B Strong

    2009 Marc C Metzger, Edward B Strong

    2007 Peter Messmer

    2007 Beat Hammer

    2006 Kaj Klaue, Hans Zwipp

    2005 Maria F Sanchez

    2004 Romano Matthys

    2004 Daniel Rikli

    2003 Yvonne Adank

    2001 Ortrun Pohler

    2001 Christoph Nötzli

    2001 Joy Buchanan

    2000 Frank Baumgart

    2000 Hermann Oberli

    1994 Helga Reichel

Prize for Lifetime Achievements

In 2004 Stephan Perren has been awarded the AO Innovation Award for his lifetime achievements and exceptional contributions to the development of new concepts, technologies, and treatment options.

You might be interested in

Experts Symposia

Where outstanding minds come together in a robust process to improve available treatments.

2020 IM covers

Latest innovations

Learn about the newest AO Technical Commission approved products in Trauma, Spine, CMF, and Vet.

AO Approved Solutions

Offering detailed descriptions of AO Approved Solutions, including videos and clinical cases.

Cookies help us improve your website experience.
By using our website, you agree to our use of cookies.