AO Trauma Asia Pacific

AO Trauma Asia Pacific organizes over 100 education events annually across the region. 

Early beginnings

AO education in the Asia Pacific region has a long history of more than 30 years.

In November 1994, AO East Asia (AO EA) was founded and Suthorn Bavonratanavech (TH) became the first Chairman of AO EA, SP Chow (CN) succeeded him to spearhead the growth of scientific activities within AO EA, and it was the third Chairman, G On Tong (SG), who united the region of AO Asia Pacific.

Previously, the country members included: Hong Kong, Indonesia, Malaysia, Philippines, Singapore, South Korea, Taiwan and Thailand. In 2003, Japan joined AO EA. China, Australia and New Zealand became part of the region in 2006, and India followed in 2007.

An official inaugural meeting in Hong Kong in April 2007 declared the formation of a new regional body—the AO Trauma Asia Pacific (AO TAP).

At present, AO TAP has 13 council members. Each of these council consisting of four to five officers who manage the AO Trauma events and development within at local level.

AO TAP council members:



Hong Kong






New Zealand





Localizing the global experience

With the diversity in culture within the Asia Pacific region, some websites in local language are created for AO members. 

Visit these local websites at:

AO Trauma Japan

AO Trauma Korea