M. L. Chip Routt, Jr. elected as AO North America President-Elect

AO NA Board of Directors Chair James Stannard, MD introduces Dr. Routt and his goals for the organization

I am pleased to announce that M. L. Chip Routt, Jr., MD has been elected to the position of AO NA  President-Elect. Dr. Routt is a Professor and Andrew R. Burgess Endowed Chair in the Department of Orthopaedic Surgery at the University of Texas Health McGovern Medical School and Memorial Herman Texas Medical Center in Houston, Texas.  

He became an AO Faculty member in 1990 and has been a passionate teacher both in North America and globally.  He has served as a member of the AO Trauma NA Education Committee, as the Trauma Representative to the AO North America Board and most recently the Chair of the AO Trauma North America. 

These various roles have helped Dr. Routt understand the entire network and many processes of the AO more thoroughly—both in North America and globally. Dr. Routt states, “These experiences and relationships will be strengths as we navigate through our important decisions together.”

Dr. Routt is committed to the principles of the AO and AO NA. He was introduced to the AO by Dr. Marc Swiontkowski and Dr. Roy Sanders at Vanderbilt University Medical Center in 1985. Since then, Dr. Routt has been committed to AO service and its educational mission by teaching at well over 120 AO educational courses and events. 

“My intents for the organization are simple. First and foremost, my focus would be to provide stability, access, and success for our members. Our greatest asset is a devoted army of passionate volunteer educators - and I promise to represent all of them, and equally.

“My second goal is to expand and deepen our educational activities to those currently underserved and underdeveloped, including our learners AND educators. We have a fantastic history and we have accomplished great things in the past - especially during the past 2-3 years of unusual times that demanded countless hours of extra work. We must celebrate this incredible effort, and then continue to build it upward and forward as we adjust to the evolving needs of our membership.”

I would like to take this opportunity to compliment the AO NA Board of Directors and the AO NA Executive Council for maintaining an inclusive, transparent election process.  I also thank the Nominating Committee and our AO NA staff members for their oversight of the nomination and election process.  And, of course, I thank the hundreds of AO NA members who participated in the election by casting their votes. 

Dr. Routt will succeed Amy Kapatkin, DVM, MAS, as AO North America President on July 1, 2023.  At that point Dr. Kapatkin will become Chair of the AO NA Board of Directors for a three-year term. 


Related pages

AO NA Board of Directors

AO North America is governed by a Board of Directors. President and chair serve for three years, members serve for four years.


Learn more about the boards and committee that oversee AO North America's operations.