Jack McDaniel Memorial Fellowship

A short-term AO Trauma North America-sponsored fellowship in a European trauma clinic, this award recognizes a practicing North America resident for exceptional interest in the area of orthopedic trauma.

Application currently closed


The history of this fellowship dates back to the late 1970's when North American AO friend and colleague Jack McDaniel was tragically killed in a plane accident in the Sierras. This fellowship was named in his honor and has been awarded, yearly, to a single outstanding surgeon committed to teaching and the clinical practice of fracture surgery, as was Jack himself, an outstanding, practicing surgeon.

Prerequisites & eligibility

This fellowship is offered to North American orthopedic residents specializing in trauma surgery. Candidate must be a subscribing member of AO Trauma and have completed the following:

  • Extensive experience with AO techniques
  • Completed all but the final year of training in their specialty at the time of activation of the fellowship OR
  • Within one year of the completion of their formal training
  • Within one year of completion of a fellowship immediately following their formal training

Applicants may only apply to one Named Fellowship per application cycle.

Funding & deliverables

The Jack McDaniel Memorial Fellowship will be granted for a minimum of one month and a maximum of three months at a European AO trauma center. The award consists of round-trip airfare expenses (up to $1,500) to the site of the fellowship and a stipend to cover lodging, meals, and incidentals.

At the end of the fellowship, a report must be submitted providing a summary on the fellowship experience. This report will be reviewed by the AO Trauma North America Fellowship Committee and adapted into an article for publication in the AO Trauma North America newsletter. In addition, you may be asked to present a short testimonial describing your fellowship experience as a part of the AO Trauma North America Fellows Reception held during the annual OTA meeting.

How to apply

A complete application will consist of:

  • Completed application form
  • Letter of reference from the applicant's Program Director
  • Letter of reference from an appropriate sponsor (who can also be the Chief of Trauma)
  • Curriculum vitae (see below)

Curriculum vitae must include a brief autobiography and a proposal for the candidate's Fellowship in the form of what they plan to do (i.e., research, gain certain clinical skills, where the candidate would like to work and with whom, how they plan on using this special training).


Application currently closed

Past recipients


  • 2022: Derek Stenquist, St. Petersburg, FL
  • 2021: Taylor Yong, Nashville, TN
  • 2020: Jonathan Copp, Cleveland, OH
  • 2019: David Zuelzer, Lexington, KY
  • 2018: Daryl Dillman, Halifax, Canada
  • 2017: Arvind von Keudel, Boston, MA
  • 2016: Mani Kahn, Durham, NC
  • 2015: John Tidwell, Hershey, PA
  • 2014: Justin Haller, Salt Lake City, UT
  • 2013: Geoffrey Marecek, Chicago, IL
  • 2011: William Min, Sacramento, CA
  • 2008: Gregory Dikos, Indianapolis, IN
  • 2006: Michael Gardner, New York, NY
  • 2005: Rahul Banerjee, Providence, RI
  • 2004: Robert Nguyen, Boston, MA
  • 2003: Charisse Sparks, Little Rock, AK
  • 2001: Rajeev Garapati, Chicago, IL
  • 2000: Anne Sullivan, Columbus, OH
  • 1999: Jonathan Gastel, Shaker Heights, OH
  • 1998: John T.Capo, Indianapolis, IN
  • 1997: Michael Stover, Charlotte, N.C.
  • 1996: Langdon Hartsock, Mobile, AL
  • 1995: Theodore Mi Clau, Houston, TX
  • 1994: David Hak, Los Angeles, CA
  • 1993: Philip Kregor, Jackson, MS
  • 1991: Vincent Santoro, Hartford, CT
  • 1990: M.L. “Chip” Routt, Seattle, WA
  • 1989: Gary Gruen, Pittsburgh, PA
  • 1988: Richard Meinig, Colorado Springs, CO
  • 1987: James Montgomery
  • 1986: Roy Sanders, Tampa, FL
  • 1985: Stephen Weber, Sacramento, CA
  • 1984: Mark Swiontkowski, Seattle, WA
  • 1983: Timothy Bray, Reno, NV
  • 1982: Lex Simpson, Reno, NV 

Have a question?