Technology Transfer board

Setting strategic direction and providing expert advice

The Technology Transfer Board is an independent board mandated with the responsibility to allocate Development Incubator funds according to goals set by the AO. The board comprises professionals from diverse backgrounds. It includes surgeons (medical members), medical industry experts (non-medical members), and a non-voting research and development expert from the AO Foundation Board.

The board:

• Ensures that the priorities are in line with the AO's overall strategy

• Establishes guidelines and procedures

• Makes final selection on funding requests

• Reviews milestones of the funded projects

• Monitors performance and budget

Who we are

Michael Schütz


Chairman & CEO of The Trendlines Group Ltd (IS)

Anita Ignatius

Chairman of 41medical AG (CH)

Jill Helms

Clinician scientist, Co-founder of Ankasa Regenerative Therapeutics, Professor of Plastic & Reconstructive Surgery at Stanford University (USA)

Lingga Tanamal

AO Foundation Board - R&D expert, Director Institute of Orthopaedic Research and Biomechanics, University Hospital Ulm (DE)

Robert Frigg

(Chairperson), Trauma Surgeon, Director Jamieson Trauma Institute, Professor & Chair of Trauma at QUT (AU)

Joost de Bruijn

VP Sales at Henry Schein Global Dental Surgical Group - APAC (SG)

Find out more

Innovation translation

Innovation translation at the AO involves developing disruptive technologies to address unmet clinical needs.

Technology Transfer

Helping drive the development and acquisition of innovative approaches to patient care in trauma and musculoskeletal disorders.

Clinical Evidence

AO ITC clinical research to global standards (ISO 14155 and ICH GCP), drawing on in-house medical and scientific expertise.