Innovation awards

Recognizing and fostering excellence in surgical innovation

AO recognition acts as a driver for further innovative development.

These three awards: the AO Technical Commission Innovation Prize, the AO Recognition Award, and the Certificate of Merit, are intended to recognize and encourage the continued pursuit of excellence, innovation, and continued rigorous improvement.

The AO Technical Commission recognizes outstanding achievements in development and innovation, which have a lasting impact on patient care and outcomes in fields central to the AO mission.

The AO Technical Commission's Innovation Prize is awarded by the AO Technical Commission's supervisory body, the TKEB, to recognize individuals or groups for their involvement and innovative contribution to a project. 

The 2018 winner of the AO Technical Commission Innovation Prize is Karl Stoffel, MD, PhD, who is Deputy Head of the Department of Orthopedic Surgery and Traumatology at the Kantonsspital Baselland.

Karl Stoffel, medical member of the Lower Extremity Expert Group since 2012, supervised and guided the development of the Femoral Neck System which is a fixed-angle gliding fixation device for minimally invasive fixation of femoral neck fractures (see also Innovations magazine 2017).  The innovative ideas of Karl Stoffel influenced the design of the implant and instrument set as well as the surgical technique.

As chair of the Periprosthetic Fracture Taskforce Karl Stoffel was also involved in the development of a new modular plating system which heavily relied on his design input. The AO Technical Commission congratulates Karl Stoffel on his achievements and is looking forward to a continuing fruitful collaboration with him to further advance patient care.

Previous winners of the AO Technical Commission Innovation Prize include:

2016: Daniel Buchbinder, Rainer Schmelzeisen, Nils-Claudius Gellrich, Damir Matic, Alf L Nastri, Scott P Bartlett, Carl-Peter Cornelius
2013: Michael Mayer, Michael J Raschke, Gerhard Schmidmaier
2012: Per-Henrik Agren, Michael Gastro, Juan B Gerstner Garcés, Leslie Grujic, Andrew K Sands, Ian G Winson
2011: Theodor F Slongo
2010: Emanuel Gauttier, Romano Matthys-Mark, Dieter Wahl, Peter Toggwiler, Peter Däscher, Urs Schlegel
2008: Alberto A Fernández Dell'Oca

AO Recognition Award

First presented in 1995 to the Hand Study Group, the AO Recognition Award honors individuals within the AO Technical Commission who have made significant and meaningful contributions product innovation and patient care.

In July 2017 the Recognition Award was presented to David L Helfet; a member of the AO Technical Commission since 1998 from New York in USA. The AO Technical Commission would like to thank David for his enduring engagement and signification impact on the AO throughout his career.

David certainly stands in good company following his receipt of the award in July. Previous winners of the AO Recognition Award include Dankward Höntzsch (2016), Pietro Regazzoni (2012) and Stephan Perren (2004). 


Experts Symposia

Where outstanding minds come together in a robust process to improve available treatments.

Innovations magazine

Find the most up-to-date information on recently approved products in the latest edition, and learn more in past issues. 

AO approved solutions

Offering detailed descriptions of AO Technical Commission Approved Solutions, including videos and cases.
Download our app, browse our approved solutions.

Cookies help us improve your website experience.
By using our website, you agree to our use of cookies.