Kathryn Cramer Career Development Award

Grant honoring Dr. Cramer by fostering senior orthopedic residents, orthopedic trauma fellows, and junior orthopedic trauma faculty who are interested in educational and research endeavors in orthopedics (preferably orthopedic trauma)

Application currently closed

Mara Schenker, MD sharing how the Kathryn Cramer Award has impacted her development as a surgeon.

Prerequisites & eligibility

Applicant must be one of the following

  • Senior resident entering fellowship
  • Fellow with an MD or DO degree pursuing career in orthopedic traumatology
  • Orthopedic surgeon in their first two years of practice

Applicants of any gender may apply. One proposal may be submitted per applicant per funding cycle. Applicant and PI must be current members of AO Trauma.

Read the full terms and conditions here.

Funding & deliverables

Maximum funding per award is $20,000.

Periodic reporting is required, including submission of a final manuscript within six months of completion of the project. Proof of publication will consist of a copy of a journal-generated PDF.

How to apply

Application currently closed

Past recipients


  • 2021: Elizabeth Harkin, Froedtert & Medical College of Wisconsin
  • 2020: Christopher Langhammer, University of Maryland
  • 2019: Zachary Working, Oregon Health & Sciences University
  • 2018: Leah Gitajn, Dartmouth Hitchcock Medical Center
  • 2017: Prism Schneider, University of Calgary
  • 2016: Karl Siebuhr, Zuckerberg San Francisco General Hospital and Trauma Center
  • 2015: Daemeon Nicolaou, St. Louis University School of Medicine
  • 2015: Cyrus Caroom, Texas Tech University Health Science Center
  • 2014: Emily Dodwell, Hospital for Special Surgery
  • 2013: Justin Haller, University of Utah
  • 2012: Mara Schenker, University of Pennsylvania
  • 2011: Megan Meislin, Loyola University
  • 2010: Roshan Shah, University of Pennsylvania Hospital
  • 2010: Arun Aneja, University of Mississippi
  • 2009: Louis Amorosa, Columbia University
  • 2008: Fay Leung, University of British Columbia
  • 2007: Kelly Lefaivre, University of British Columbia
  • 2006: Christopher McAndrew, University Hospital of Cleveland

Have a question?