AOTK Executive Board

The AOTK Executive Board (TKEB) is the steering and supervising board of the AOTK System. As in all boards of the AO Foundation, the independent surgeons ensure decision making according to clinical necessities.

Tasks of the TKEB

  • to elect the members of the Specialty AOTKs proposed by Specialty AOTKs
  • to confirm the members of the Expert Groups, proposed by the EG, elected by Specialty AOTK
  • to appoint or dissolve an Expert Group, proposed by Specialty AOTK
  • to ensure that the priorities of the AOTK System are in line with the overall strategy of the AO Foundation
  • to ensure an exchange between the Specialties
  • to define the approval procedure, workflows and standards valid for the AOTK System
  • to establish the AOTK Guidelines and AOTK Checklists and adapt these according to needs
  • to set up and control the budget of the AOTK System

Medical membership

The TKEB consists of the

  • Chair of the AOTK (Trauma) who chairs the TKEB meetings
  • Chair of the AOTK (CMF)
  • Chair of the AOSpine TK
  • Chair of the AOCID Advisory Committee
  • Chair of the AO Foundation Board
  • President of the AO Foundation, member without vote
  • Representatives of the industrial partner without vote
Medical members
Tim Pohlemann, DE – Chair TKEB, AOTK (Trauma)
Daniel Buchbinder, US – Chair AOTK (CMF)
Stephen Kates, US – Chair AOCID Advisory Committee
Maarten Spruit, NL – Chair AOSpine TK
Rolf Jeker, CH – CEO and Vice-Chair AO Foundation Board
Nikolaus Renner, CH – President AO Foundation

Contact: Claas Albers, Director AOTK System​