AO Research Review Commission

The AO Research Review Commission (AORRC) is the central AO Foundation body dedicated to managing and handling the independent peer review process appliedto all research projects submitted to the AO Foundation and its Clinical Divisions (→ AOTrauma → AOSpine → AOCMF → AOVET). Peer review is carried out by a pool of independent external reviewers who are selected on the basis of their expertise to conduct the reviews.


  • All proposals submitted to a call are treated equally. They are evaluated impartially on their merits, irrespective of their origin or identity of the applicants.
  • All proposals and related documents communicated to the AO Foundation are ​treated in confidence.

The review process

  • The AO Research Review Commission is responsible for the review processfor all grant applications
  • Each of the applications is reviewed by at least two external independentreviewers and one reviewer from the AORRC. The application will then bescored and ranked
  • Projects which are recommended for funding are forwarded to the submitting ​funding body
    (→ R&D Platform​​ → AOTrauma → AOSpine → AOCMF → AOVET) for the final funding decision

Resubmission of a declined application is only possible on recommendation from the AORRC and at the invitation of a funding body. The AORRC will not enterinto any discussions with the applicants. All correspondence must go through ​the respective funding body.​​​​​​​​​​


 Image Viewer ‭[2]‬


 Image Viewer ‭[1]‬



David W GraingerDavid W. Grainger, PhD
Chair AORRC​
Prof. and Chair, Inaugural George S. & Dolores Doré Eccles Presidential Endowed Chair of Pharmaceutics and Pharmaceutical Chemistry, Prof. of Bioeng​ineering
University of Utah
Salt Lake City, US
Anita AnthonAnita Anthon
AORRC Commission Manager
AO Research Review Commisssion
Stettbachstrasse 6
8600 Dübendorf, Switzerland

Jaimo Ahn

Jaimo Ahn, MD, PhD, FACS 
Co-Director, Orthopaedic Trauma and Fracture Reconstruction 
Department of Orthopaedic Surgery,
University of Pennsylvania
Admissions and MSTP Steering Committees 
Perelman School of Medicine, University of Pennsylvania, US
Translational Musculoskeletal Research Center, PVAMC

Leendert Blankevoort
Leendert Blankevoort, ​Dr. ir.
UHD/Research director
Orthopaedic Research Center Amsterdam
Department of Orthopaedic Surgery
Academic Medical Center
Amsterdam, NL
​Martin Ehrbar
Martin Ehrbar, Dr. sc. nat. 
Head of Research Obstetrics
University Hospital Zurich
Zurich, CH
William L. MurphyWilliam L. Murphy, PhD
Harvey D. Spangler Prof. of Biomedical Engineering and Orthopedics
Director of Stem Cell and Regenerative Medicine Center
University of Wisconsin​​, US
Dirk Stengel
Dirk Stengel, Prof. Dr. med.
Facharzt für Chirurgie, Trauma Surgeon (UEMS), Klinischer Epidemiologe
Ärztlicher Leiter, Zentrum für Klinische Forschung
Klinik für Unfallchirurgie und Orthopädie
Unfallkrankenhaus Berlin​, DE
Maria J Troulis

Maria J. Troulis, ​DDS, MSc., FACS
Chief of Service,
Dept. of Oral and Maxillofacial Surgery
Massachusetts General Hospital
Walter C. Guralnick Professor and Chair,
Dept. of Oral and Maxillofacial Surgery
Harvard School of Dental Medicine

​​Dirk Stengel​Laurie R. Goodrich, DVM, PhD, ACVS Diplomate
Professor of Equine Surgery
ACVS Founding Fellow in Minimally Invasive Surgery,
Equine Orthopedics
Orthopedic Research Center​​, Department of Clinical Sciences Fort Collins, Colorado​