AO Alumni Association

23. December 2008

The official AOAA Committee handover has taken place.

7th Ordinary General Assembly of the AO Alumni Association

Due to the various anniversary events conducted in the course of 2008, there was no single global AOAA event this year. Therefore, the General Assembly election as well as the election of a new AOAA Committee was held online. All AOAA members were able to cast their votes during the whole month of September 2008.

New AO Alumni Association Committee as of December 2008

The results of the election of the new AO Alumni Committee were as follows:

President:                           Klaus Dresing, Germany

Vice President:                    Fiesky Nuñez Vasquez, Venezuela

Committee members:          Kamel Afifi, Jordan (Secretary)
                                         Yogesh R Parikh, India (Treasurer)
                                         Cliff Turen, USA (Advisor)

Official handover

A small ceremony to officially launch the new AOAA Committee was held on December 16, 2008, during the AO Davos Courses.

Joachim Prein opened the proceedings with a short speech in which he drew the connection between education and the AO Alumni Association.

In officially handing over the reins to the new committee, the great work done by the old committee was also recognized.

The following people were presented with an ornamental Swiss cowbell in honor of their contribution to the AOAA’s success:

Antonio Pace served as AOAA Secretary for nine years and as President from 2003 to 2008. 

Peter Messmer was AOAA Secretary for six years until 2008.

Jorge E Alonso served as Advisor to the AOAA from 2006 to 2008.

Helton Defino was Vice-President from 2003 to 2008.

Theerachai Apivatthakakul was Treasurer from 2006 to 2008.

AO World News spoke to the new President, Klaus Dresing, at the ceremony and asked him about the future of the AOAA.

“I think that the Alumni form the backbone of the AO and we have to ensure that the Alumni activities continue so that the ‘AO Spirit’ can continue. The newly-elected committee will try to ensure that this is the case—something which will benefit patients as well as surgeons.”

Congratulations to the newly-elected AOAA Committee and our thanks go to the discharged members of the old one.


Icon From left to right: Y Parikh, K Afifi, K Dresing, C Turen, and F Nuñez Vasquez
Icon Antonio Pace having fun with his cowbell
Icon Attendees at the AOAA Committee handover ceremony