Two renowned experts bring their insights to AOCID Advisory Committee

18. September 2018

New members were unanimously elected during AO Trustees Meeting

A world-renowned professor of neurosurgery and a business-savvy medical device industry expert will bring their unique insights to AO Clinical Investigation and Documentation (AOCID) as new members of the AOCID Advisory Committee (AOCID AC). Michael Fehlings and Lingga Tanamal were unanimously elected to the committee by the AO Foundation Board during the AO Trustees Meeting 2018 in Basel, Switzerland.

Distinguished academic track record
Fehlings is from Canada and was elected chairman of the committee, succeeding former AOCID AC Chairman Stephen Kates. Fehlings is Vice Chair Research at the University of Toronto Department of Surgery and co-director of the newly formed spine program at the University of Toronto, in addition to many other professional engagements. He combines an active clinical practice in complex spinal surgery with a translation-oriented program focusing on discovering novel treatments for brain and spinal cord injuries. Fehlings’ vast experience is reflected in more than 800 peer-reviewed publications (h-index 84) and the numerous prestigious awards he has earned, including the 2009 Herbert Olivecrona Award—known as the Nobel Prize of neurosurgery—awarded by the Karolinska Institutet in collaboration with the Karolinska Univer​sity Hospital Department of Clinical Neurosurgery (Sweden) to honor international neurosurgeons for contributions to brain and spinal cord surgery or research.

Fehlings’ election to the AOCID AC is based on his distinguished academic track record, clinical research expertise, and proven leadership as demonstrated by his serving on various boards. Moreover, his election brings valuable neurosurgery expertise to the current AOCID AC.

Vast industry expertise
Tanamal is from Singapore and brings more than 25 years of medical device industry expertise, she will serve as a business expert on the AOCID AC. She has worked in North America, Europe, and Asia across a wide range of disciplines, ranging from development engineering and product management to sales, general management, marketing, and education. Tanamal has been named in nine US orthopedics patents and, during her medical device industry career, has maintained a focus on marketing. Her notable contributions include investigational device exemption (IDE) submission for the mobile bearing knee (US), the first dental implant study (Japan), and a biomaterial clinical study (China). Tanamal holds a bachelor of science degree in materials sciences and engineering from the University of Florida (US) and a master of science in bioengineering from Clemson University (US), as well as a master of business administration in entrepreneurship from Ball State University (US).

Tanamal’s entrepreneurship, executive business skills, clinical research background, and multinational experience will be invaluable in AOCID’s commercial ventures. Furthermore, she is the first female AOCID AC member, demonstrating the AO Foundation’s commitment to attracting top female talent.

AOCID wishes the two new committee members every success and thanks the two existing members, Andreas Platz (Switzerland) representing AOTrauma and Risto Kontio (Finland) representing AOCMF​, for their continuous engagement as AOCID AC members.

Outgoing AOCID AC members Andreas Platz (left) and Risto Kontio (right)