​AOTK System​

Clavadelerstrasse 8
7270 Davos


Tel.: +41 81 414 24 70
Fax: +41 81 414 22 90




The Technical Commissions consist of:

  • five to seven Medical Members
  • the Chairs of the respective AO Clinical Divisions' Education Commissions are ex-officio members with voting rights
  • two to three representatives from the industrial partner are Guests with no voting or decision making rights.

AO Technical Commissions

The three AO Technical Commissions (AOTK) for Trauma, Spine and CMF are the governing bodies of their clinical area within the AOTK System. 

The AOTKs propose to the AOTK Executive Board (TKEB) to appoint and dissolve Expert Groups, which provide expert opinion in the respective areas of specialty. The AOTKs support, guide, and supervise the work of their Expert Groups.

Further tasks
  • To define the need for new or improved technologies and procedures
  • To convey the defined needs for research, development and clinical investigation
  • To review the priorities and propositions of their Expert Groups according to the general aims of the AO Foundation
  • To approve new devices and methodso approve new devices and methods
  • To approve preclinical and clinical studies proposed by the Expert Groups

The AOTKs are the only bodies empowered to approve a device (product) or method (technology) indicated for their specialty as a product, which may be advertised as a product approved by the AO Foundation. The approval procedure is defined by the AOTK Executive Board.

Medical members
AOTK Trauma members AOTK Spine members ​AOTK CMF members         
Michael Raschke,
Chair, DE
Maarten Spruit, 
Chair, NL
Daniel Buchbinder, Chair, US
Andrew Sands, US
Kota Watanabe, JP Nils-Claudius Gellrich, DE
Keith Mayo, US
Frank Kandziora, DE Gerson Mast, DE
Merng Koon Wong, SG​
Jean Ouellet, CA Damir Matic, CA 
Carlos Federico Sancineto, AR Christian Mazel, FR Alf Nastri, AUS
Jack Zigler, US ​​​​​
​Bangping Qian, CN
María Alvarez Sánchez​
Lois Wallach​
Christoph Noetzli



AOTK System – Expert Groups

AOTK System – Expert Groups
- Trauma
- Spine
- Craniomaxillofacial​
- Veterinary
- Task Forces

AOTK System Innovations Magazine